Iowa ASCD Agenda - April 11, 2012

Iowa ASCD Executive Board of Directors Meeting

Wednesday, April 11,  2012  (4:30 - 8:30 P.M.)  

Location:  Hilton Garden Inn, Johnston/Urbandale, IA/Exit I80-129

Preparation for Meeting: 

  • Share with Lou Howell ( updates for directors no later than April 8, 2012 
  • Review documents prior to meeting; be prepared to discuss and/or take action when appropriate. 

Directors:  Kelly Adams, Pam Armstrong-Vogel, Julie Davies, Jason Ellingson, Juli Grotewold, Lou Howell, Bart Mason, Leslie Moore, Eric Neessen, Susan Pecinovsky, Elaine Smith-Bright, Cindy Swanson, Marcia Tweeten, Kevin Vidergar, Chris Welch, Jan Westerman-Beatty,  Amy Wichman, Sue Wood, Stephanie Rosenburg-Wager (ad hoc) 

Focus on Our Group Norms:

  • Listen for Understanding, Speak to Be Truthfully Understood, Confront the Tough Challenges, Come Prepared, Have Fun, Start on Time and End on Time, Value Diversity, Honor Confidentiality

I.   Welcome (4:30) (Leslie Moore, President)

  • Review of Agenda and Group Norms
  • Order Dinner from Menu

II .   Announcement (4:35)  (Jason Ellingson, President-Elect)

  • Board Elections Update
  • Constitution Approval

III.  Action Items: (4:45) (President, Leslie Moore) 

Please review and be prepared to discuss and take action.

IV.   Strategic Plan  (5:00 P.M.) (President, Leslie Moore):  By 2014, Iowa ASCD will have a systems-wide approach to all structures in the organization as evidenced by the expected outcomes of the following four actions with updates in progress annually at the summer retreat and as requested for specific actions and activities

  • Action 1 - Innovation and Leadership in Teaching and Learning   (Past President, Julie Davies and Director, Cindy Swanson)
    • Information:  Please read the following updates; no discussion will take place
    • Discussion:  Please read the following updates and be prepared to discuss to provoke learning for future action
    • Discussion and Action:  Please read the following updates and be prepared to discuss and take action
  • Action 2   Membership (Director of Member Relations and E-Learning, Amy Wichman)
    • Review information in prepatation for discussion and possible action:  Please read the following updates and be prepared to discuss and take action
  • Action 3   Technology (Director of Technology, Chris Welch)
    • Information:  Chris Welch will provide oral report to the board of directors.
  • Action 4   Advocacy and Influence (Leadership Council Members, Susan Pecinovsky and Pam Vogel)  
    • Review document for information as well as preparation for discussion and possible voting for support of various items addressed in the summary.

IV.   Dinner "Break"

V.   Policy and Procedures  (6:30) (President, Leslie Moore)

  • Dates for 2012-2013 (President-Elect, Jason Ellingson)
  • Board of Directors - Communication Editor (Executtive Director, Lou Howell)
  • Affiliate Recognition Application for 2013 - Committee (Executive Director, Lou Howell)

V.  Next Agenda – July 25, 2012   (8:30 - 4:00 P.M.) (President-Elect, Jason Ellingson)

  • Action on the following:
    • Minutes (Marcia Tweeten)
    • Finances (Julie Davies)
  • Other
    • Vision Update for 2013-2015 (Lou Howell)
    • Committee to Work on Affiliate Recognition Application for 2013
    • Events Updates (Cindy Swanson, Sue Wood, Kelly Adams)

VIII.  Adjournment (8:30 P.M.) (President, Leslie Moore)