Board of Directors

Executive Director of Iowa ASCD 

 Lou Howell

2555 Pine Circle

Urbandale, IA  50322

Phone:  515.229.4781


Iowa ASCD President (2013-2014)

Allan Eckelman

High School Principal

Sumner/Fredericksburg Community School District

802 West 6th Street

Sumner, IA  50674

Phone:  563.578.3341

Iowa ASCD Past President

Jason Ellingson


Collins-Maxwell Community School District

400 Metcalf Street

Maxwell, IA  50161

Phone:  515.387.1115 x 100

Iowa ASCD President-Elect

Kevin Vidergar

Director of Teaching and Learning

Perry Community School District

1200 18th Street

Perry, Iowa 50220

Phone:  515.465.3503 x 8556

Iowa ASCD Administrative Assistant to the Executive Director

Bridget Arrasmith

Room 123, School of Education, Drake University

3206 University, Des Moines, Iowa 50311

Phone: 515.271.1872

Fax: 515.271.2233

Iowa ASCD Executive Board of Directors 

Pam Armstrong-Vogel  Advocacy and Influence

Jan Beatty Higher Education Representative  - Regent Universities

Alan Eckelman President

Jason Ellingson Past President

Lou Howell Executive Director

Rita Martens  Liaison to the Iowa Department of Education

Becky Martin Director - Members at Large

Ottie Maxey Director - Members at Large

Leslie Moore Secretary

Sara Oswold  Director - Members at Large

Susan Pecinovsky Advocacy and Influence

Elaine Smith-Bright Higher Education Representative  - Private Universities

Kym Stein Events Chair, Summer Institutes and Grade-Level Conferences

Cindy Swanson Co-Chair of Innovation and Leadership in Teaching and Learning

Veta Thode  Events Chair, Fall Institute

Kevin Vidergar:  President-Elect

Chris Welch Director of Technology 

Amy Whittington  Director - Members at Large

Amy Wichman Director of Member Relations and E-Learning 

Sue Wood  Event Chair, Curriculum Leadership Academy


Supporting Documents for Board of Directors, including Job Descriptions